top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaitlynn Wulfekuhle

What Track Means To Me

When thinking about what to write for my blogs this semester, it wasn’t that hard for me to choose what I wanted to write about. I had already talked about the first sport I fell in love with over the previous semester, so I thought it was only fair to talk about the second sport I fell in love with, running. If you have not read my other blogs, please go check them out to learn all about the mental and physical benefits of running, a runner’s wardrobe, and how the coronavirus has affected running!!


Ever since I was little, my mom had me in running races. It started with those silly little races where you would run a course and get a cookie and juice after. I would never complain though and would have so much fun doing it. I think that’s when I first started to really love running, and it was a bonus winning most of the races every time. In elementary school, whenever we would run the mile for the fitness tests, I was always the first girl to finish, sometimes I’d even beat the boys, and my PE teacher would always say to me “Kaitlynn are you sure you don’t want to be a distance runner someday?” Swimming was always my main priority and running was just a side hobby that I’d do to clear my head or to get in another workout. It wasn’t until my 7th-grade year that I decided to go out for the track team.


I had no clue what I was doing and was very behind the other kids, but I picked it up very quickly. I decided to continue doing track in high school after I went to state 8th-grade year as an alternate in the 4x400 relay. Sophomore year I got to be another alternate to the state team and we won! That team was amazing and so rewarding to be a part of. Soon, track became my new priority and swim was the hobby. I just fell in love with the adrenaline rush I’d get after a race, the smell of deep blue all over my legs, and the team spirit at every single meet cheering you on as you come down that last 100 meters.


Running has taught me more about myself than I ever thought it would. It taught me that I could do more than just be a swimmer. That I could be a dual athlete. That I could be good at something if I just put my head to it and work hard. It taught me to be tough. Junior year, I got really bad shin splints that turned into a stress fracture. That was so hard for me to comprehend. I just wanted to keep running, I didn’t want to be hurt when I was peking. Without track, I wouldn’t have met some of my life-long friends. The long practices and many hours spent at meets would have been boring without them.


With this whole coronavirus scare, it was very sad hearing that my senior track season might get canceled and all that I lost junior year would never be repaired. I’m still holding onto the hope that we might have a season June-July so I’m still training every day. But, who really knows what will happen. I’d love to compete for one last time in the Dunlap uniform, but if I don’t get the chance to, I’m extremely grateful for the time I spent on the Dunlap Girls Track Team.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page